Melissa Sloane

Pure Blessings Celebrancy
Celebrant background: Me professionally
I have a very diverse skill set thanks to my parents who started preparing me for professional life early. I was born into the hospitality industry and was pulling beers in our pubs by the time I was 8 years old and was continually shown how to operate a business from a young age, part of being a family business, but all this set me up with so many useful skills that I have been able to transfer to all facets of my professional life. I love organising things, meeting with people and helping them expand on their ideas and development. I am very passionate about developing the skills of young people aged between 15 and 25yrs.

Industry Experience
* Hospitality, Tourism & Event Management
* Environment, Wildlife & Heritage
* Nursing & Allied Health
* Not For Profits & Fundraising
* Teaching - Secondary, VET & Tertiary
* Youth Counselling & Employment
I am a habitual studier, if I find something interesting, I find myself having to learn more about it and therefore, have a few qualifications in different things.

Qualifications
Master of Counselling (Child, Youth & Family Intervention), James Cook University, Current (2022 – 2023)
CHC41015 Cert IV Celebrancy, The Gordon, 2022
CHC40313 Cert IV Child, Youth & Family Intervention, TafeNorth, 2020
Bachelor of Nursing Science, James Cook University, 2017
Bachelor of Education (Secondary English & History), James Cook University, 2014
Bachelor of Business (International Convention & Event Management), Southern Cross University, 2009
Bachelor of Criminology & Criminology, James Bond University, 2002 (Completed 2.5 yrs of 4yrs)
Bachelor of Applied Science (Ecotourism), Charles Sturt University, 1995
TAE40110 Cert IV Training & Assessment, Plenty Training, 2012
BSB40407 Cert IV Small Business Management, 1on1 Professional Business Training, 2012
BSB40207 Cert IV in Business, 1on1 Professional Business Training, 2012
Cert III Project Management, Priority Management, 2006
Why I'm a celebrant: Why Celebrancy?
For over 20 years I have wanted to become a Celebrant, I have wanted to support people during their time of need and celebrate all those important milestones in life, but a young busy family, busy job and everything else I wanted to do, just didn't equal to the right time. For over 30 years I've always enjoyed public speaking and performed as a public speaker at a number of large events and acted as EmCee for lots of weddings, etc. For a number of years I was the Wedding Coordinator in the family hotels, I have observed hundreds of priests and celebrants during this time, giving me a rare insight into how ceremonies were typically structured and presented. I had always held strong opinions about what I did and didn't like and how, given the chance I would write and present ceremonies.

Like most people, COVID gave me an opportunity to re-evaluate where my passions lie, and the same desire to be a Celebrant was still there but burning stronger. The desire to support people with their grief by actually celebrating a persons life, assisting a couple make their vows and commitment to one another, celebrating the welcoming of a new child into a family and even the experience of having a pet to share things with, was still there so I took the step and gained my qualification.

I pride myself on delivering highly personalised and engaging ceremonies as I'm a firm believer that ceremonies should never be considered merely the "necessary part of the day". They should be interactive, interesting, enjoyable and memorable for both you and your guests.

I am friendly, attentive, organised and professional and my considerable experience in public speaking ensures that I will deliver an engaging ceremony which reflects your personalities, values and vision.
Treasured memories: Me personally
Let's see, my early years saw me moving around a lot. I have lived in Papua New Guinea, Wollongong, Wagga Wagga, Bundaberg, Dirranbandi, Cairns, Ingham, Townsville and currently in Ballarat, but I actually say I have two homes as I still have a place in Townsville, my family is all there and I travel back up often.

I have 2 biological children, a son in Townsville and a daughter in Ballarat, 1 adopted daughter in Japan and I cannot count how many 'surrogate' children I have. I have been hosting international exchange students and school homestay students from around the world for over 15 years, as well as foster care, not too mention my kids went to a local boarding school, so all their friends who were boarders would come home to me on the weekends. I love the feeling that this big extended family gives me.

My other children are of the four legged kind, we have a little bit of a menagerie. Einstein the cat, Buddha the dog, 3 rabbits, 2 blue-tongue lizards, and fish. Then add on the random rescued wildlife my daughter brings home.

I have 2 brothers in Queensland and a nephew that I adore and spoil!

To keep busy when I am not studying or working, I have been volunteering with community organisations and sporting groups at all levels since I was a teenager and continue to be heavily involved in a number of community organisations including Rotary, The Smith Family and a few others. I enjoy crafting, socialising and organising get togethers, spending time with friends, visiting markets, cultural activities and sightseeing.
and I'd like to say: I’ll never take for granted how fortunate I am to be invited into people’s lives and entrusted with such an important and very rewarding responsibility. I get the best seat in the house and I’m so grateful for that!

Please contact me at any time to see if I'm available for your life celebration. If so, I'd love to meet you for a drink and a chat.
Areas serviced: Locally, nationally and internationally
Celebrant Town/ Suburb: Ballarat
State: Victoria
Phone: 0413383341